Update: SBC No Noise Task Force

Safer Buildings Coalition No Noise Task Force Official Launch

Posted on March 4, 2021
Steering Committee Kicks Off Task Force, FCC Formally Assigns Resources

The Safer Buildings Coalition is pleased to announce that our No Noise Task Force has launched. The Steering Committee has been selected and we held our first call Tuesday, February 23rd.

The following industry veterans have already accepted positions on the Steering Committee. 

  • Chief Alan Perdue [Chair] – Executive Director, Safer Buildings Coalition
  • Chief Michael O'Brian - Director, Fire & Life Safety Section for the IAFC, and Fire Chief with Brighton Area Fire Authority (MI)
  • Andy Seybold – Noted thought leader in the public safety comms space. 
  • Michelle Geddes - Chief Information Officer at City of San Francisco Department of Emergency Management
  • Michael Baltrotsky - Assistant Chief, Technology Section Chief at Montgomery County (MD) Fire & Rescue Service
  • Don Root – NPSTC  Spectrum Management Committee Chair
  • Mark Crosby - President/CEO at Enterprise Wireless Alliance
  • Tom Presnak – Underwriters Laboratory
  • Kenny Blakeslee – President & CEO Pulse Signal Solutions / Apex Site Solutions
  • John Foley – Managing Director, Safer Buildings Coalition

See related article by CLICKING HERE to see:

  • Task Force Purpose
  • Download the No Noise Position Paper
  • Sign Up to Have a Voice 

FCC Designates Commission staff to serve as a resource to the No Noise Task Force
SBC is pleased and proud to announce that the FCC has designated representatives from each of the following bureaus or offices to act as resources to the Task Force:

  • Enforcement Bureau
  • Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau
  • Office of Engineering and Technology
  • Wireless Telecommunications Bureau

The FCC’s offer of support is a strong validation of the importance of eliminating harmful noise and interference that is creating challenges for public safety radio systems, first responders, and License Holders from around the country. This is very welcome support.

Task Force Structure 

No News Task Force Structure

  1. The entire team serves the MISSION
  2. The SBC Board provides sponsorship and overall partnership to the Steering Committee.
  3. The Steering Committee will define the Work Groups made up of additional volunteers. We currently have 73 volunteers for the task force.
  4. The Work Groups will take on specific objectives as defined by the Steering Committee. 
  5. The Work Groups and Steering Committee will also serve and interact with stakeholders who may not necessarily have direct membership in the task force, such as government agencies who are not able to directly participate, other trade associations, and so on.

Volunteer and Work Group Update
For those who have registered here to have a voice in the work group, we will be sending out an official communication in the next five business days to advise of next steps for the Work Groups. This will start with a general call where we will make a group presentation to explain the Task Force, the Work Groups, and to answer your questions.

THANK YOU to all involved!