Update: SBC No Noise Task Force

Update: SBC No Noise Task Force

Posted on January 27, 2021

On December 21, the Safer Buildings Coalition rolled out our "No Noise" Call to Action and Position Paper. www.saferbuildings.org/no-noise.

The goal of the Task Force is to focus on the problem of harmful interference caused by improperly deployed Signal Boosters. The scope of the Task Force is to address the past, present, and future of public safety in-building communications. 

We are happy to report great progress, as follows:


The Task Force will feature an Executive Steering Committee, supported by Working Groups. It will be Chaired by Chief Alan Perdue of the Safer Buildings Coalition.

The Steering Committee will provide guidance and oversight to the Work Groups.

The following industry veterans have already accepted positions on the Steering Committee. 

  • Chief Alan Perdue [Chair] – Executive Director, Safer Buildings Coalition
  • Chief Michael O'Brian - Director, Fire & Life Safety Section for the IAFC, and Fire Chief with Brighton Area Fire Authority (MI)
  • Andy Seybold – Noted thought leader in the public safety comms space. 
  • Michelle Geddes - Chief Information Officer at City of San Francisco Department of Emergency Management
  • Michael Baltrotsky - Assistant Chief, Technology Section Chief at Montgomery County (MD) Fire & Rescue Service
  • Don Root – NPSTC  Spectrum Management Committee Chair
  • Mark Crosby - President/CEO at Enterprise Wireless Alliance
  • Tom Presnak – Underwriters Laboratory
  • Kenny Blakeslee – President & CEO Pulse Signal Solutions / Apex Site Solutions
  • John Foley – Managing Director, Safer Buildings Coalition

We are in conversation with just a couple of other members of the public safety leadership community to complete the Steering Committee. See the Position Paper for the stakeholders list.

The Task Force has already received 67additional volunteers, in the following categories. Volunteers will have the opportunity to participate in the Task Force (We may limit the number of volunteers from any one company):

Primary Role   Count
AHJ (Code Official, govt) 4
Public Safety Radio Admin/Operator (govt) 8
State or Local Government (govt) 2
FCC RF exposure compliance and interference expert 1
Codes / Standards body 2
Consultant 11
Distribution / Logistics (Industry) 2
In-Building Equip, materials manufacturer (Industry) 17
In-Building RF System Integrator (Industry) 17
Test Equipment (Industry)   2
Trade Association 1
Total 67

Would you be interested in participating in the Task Force?
Please visit www.saferbuildings.org/no-noise to download and read the Position Paper, and use the form found there to register interest.